Friday Fictioneers #9

2 May

This is my Friday Fictioneers contribution for the week.  The prompt can be found here.

 

Memories followed

Each year we lit a candle.

For 24 hours the flickering flame warmed her cold body.  Our cold bodies.  The flame coaxed her name from throats swollen with sorrow.  Memories followed.

For 24 hours she lived.  We lived.

Then, 8736 hours of silence.

One day, in one of those hours of silence, I left.

The next year I lit a candle.  For 24 hours the flame danced, like she did.  For 24 hours wax dribbled down the sides of the ornate stand; messily, artistically, like her.

The sculptural waxy shapes now inspire conversations.

I will not let her die again.

15 Responses to “Friday Fictioneers #9”

  1. subroto May 2, 2014 at 11:27 pm #

    This was stunning. The images it invokes, the story that you tell and the stories left untold. I just went ‘wow’.

    (On a less serious note though with your blog title and the candle photo I was half expecting a story about the Wicked Wick).

    • mscwhite May 3, 2014 at 8:06 am #

      Thanks for the generous comment.

      I wish I had thought of the Wicked Wick… I sat looking at the photo for ages, searching for a punny angle, but could not think of anything!

  2. larry trasciatti May 3, 2014 at 12:44 am #

    Sad story commemorating the death of such a very young lady. I could really feel the sorrow

    • mscwhite May 10, 2014 at 10:12 pm #

      Thanks for reading.

  3. Judah First May 3, 2014 at 1:24 am #

    Beautiful picture of remembering in grief.

  4. patrickprinsloo May 3, 2014 at 4:26 am #

    A moving little story. A lot unsaid.

  5. patriciaruthsusan May 3, 2014 at 11:28 pm #

    A lovely story of remembrance. It’s true that those we love will always be in our memories. Well written.

    Susan

  6. sustainabilitea May 4, 2014 at 2:57 am #

    “Inspiring conversations” is a unique way to keep memories alive. Well done.

    janet

  7. rochellewisoff May 4, 2014 at 9:53 am #

    Dear MSC,

    A simply lovely story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  8. aliciajamtaas May 4, 2014 at 2:51 pm #

    messily, artistically like her. What a great and simple way to sum a person up. Delightful.

    • mscwhite May 8, 2014 at 9:41 pm #

      Sometimes the most simple of descriptions speaks volumes. Glad you enjoyed it.

  9. artfullyadelie May 6, 2014 at 1:51 am #

    “The flame coaxed her name from throats swollen with sorrow. Memories followed.” That is absolutely my most favorite part of the story that was wonderfully beautiful the entire way through. Somehow, just reading this gave me the pain in my throat I’ve gotten in times of great sorrow as well. The way you compared her to the dancing of the flame and the dripping of the wax gives vivid images of who she was. Absolutely magnificent.

    • mscwhite May 8, 2014 at 9:40 pm #

      Thank you so much for your kind words. “The flame coaxed her name from throats swollen with sorrow” is also my favourite line. Once I had the one, the rest of the story just followed.

  10. WeaverGrace May 8, 2014 at 10:15 pm #

    Outstanding! I appreciate your subtle messages wafting from imagery. The lines that caused me to linger longest: “For 24 hours…” “For 24 hours…” and “The sculpted waxy shapes…”

    Thank you for sharing this, and for being part of my glimpse into Friday Fictioneers.

    • mscwhite May 10, 2014 at 10:15 pm #

      I am so glad that you lingered longest on the lines starting with “For 24 hours…” I had hoped the repetition would slow the narrative, hinting at the significance of those hours.

      Welcome to Friday Fictioneers! I hope you see you around again next week!

Leave a Reply

