‘I wanna hear a poem’

2 May

I wanna hear a poem‘ is an amazing spoken word performance by Steve Colman.  It is powerful, exciting and would be a fantastic way to get students excited about different types of poetry and a wide range of subject matter.

Incidentally, the use of the poem as a hook/introduction is not new.  Colman was the first performer in episode 1, season 1 of Def Poetry.

If I were using this poem in one of my classes, I would follow it up with an activity which gets students thinking about why they wanna hear a poem.  This activity could be run as an individual thinking task, or students could work in groups to create lists, diagrams or even poems.

One Response to “‘I wanna hear a poem’”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Poetry is meant to teach… | Once uPUN a time... - February 5, 2016

    […] audience.  The second poem I want to share with my students is Steve Colman’s ‘I wanna hear a poem‘.  There, Colman engages with the notion that a place at the microphone is valuable and that […]

Leave a Reply

