Shaking it up

12 Jun

I am running my Shakespeare units with my years 9 (Romeo and Juliet) and 10 (Macbeth) selective classes as comparative studies.  This means that students will need to consider how ideas represented in their set texts are represented differently in a range of related material.  To assist them, I am putting together a basic selection of related material to consider.

I have blogged previously about using film trailers and operas to help illuminate ideas in the play.  I think those texts that are highly similar to the original Shakespearean narrative are great for weaker students; those students only have to comment on difference in medium not disparities in the narratives.  However, I want to extend my stronger students by providing related material that challenges, or causes them to question, their understanding of the play.

Below is a list of texts that I have found thus far:

Any other suggestions?

 

Leave a Reply

