‘Monsters’

13 Jun

My Year 11 students are studying a unit which requires them to make connections between their set texts and other texts of their own choosing.  I have learnt, through experience, that many of my students do not respond well to written texts.  I have also noticed that my kids are better able to imagine things when they hear them.  For example, when studying ‘The Yellow Wallpaper’ they asked me to read sections of the text to them.  When they could hear how the words sounded they were better able to articulate the effect of the author’s language choices.

With all this in mind, I showed my students Poetri’s spoken word performance entitled ‘Monsters‘.   My students responded really positively.  One even told me that it was a ‘sick’ text (apparently ‘sick’ is a good thing these days).

I allowed my students to listen to it once to appreciate the message.  Then, I gave them a minute or two to jot down anything they remembered.  I then asked them to listen again, this time focusing on a particular section with a view to them selecting quotes that ‘spoke’ to them.  We followed this up with whole class analysis and discussion of the quotes sourced by students.

The next lesson was used to create a comparative table that noted the connections between our two set texts (‘The Fall of the House of Usher’ and ‘The Yellow Wallpaper’) and ‘Monsters’.  I was so impressed with the ideas that my students came up with!  Not only did they come up with great categories for comparison, but they articulated really perceptive points of connection between the texts.

Leave a Reply

