Basic comparative essays

14 Jun

My students have done a lot of work this term on incorporating quotes and techniques into paragraphs.  In order to focus on those skills, essay writing was put on the back-burner.  Now, as the unit draws to a close, it is time to write a comparative essay.

In order to assist my students I create a simple comparative essay handout tailored to the demands of the current unit.  To cater to the range of abilities in my class I have incorporated examples with significant difference in language difficulty.  I have used different colours to flag these difficulties, thus aiding my visual learners.  As students have previously responded well to scaffolds and tables I have tried to incorporate that element as well.

Leave a Reply

