Helena’s interview

6 Jul

As mentioned previously (here and here), I am using my Year 7 A Midsummer Night’s Dream unit to teach my kids about different types of texts.

So far, we have looked at a news paper article.

I plan to start next term exploring interviews.  For the purposes of learning  the skills, we will focus on the argument between Hermia and Helena while in the woods.  We will spend our first lesson exploring the form.  Ideally, I will have  students read some example transcripts and try come up with a list of conventions themselves.  Then, I will explain that they are going to work in pairs.  One person will pretend to be Helena, and the other will be the interviewer.  Together, they will brainstorm some possible questions and answers.

For the second lesson I will take them to a computer room.  There, they will use Google Story Builder to create a transcript of the interview.  Here is an example that I created earlier.

My kids have demonstrated a decent ability to work collaboratively (some do function better in same gender groups) and they have responded well previously to computer tasks.  The only challenge will be finding an available computer room!

Leave a Reply

