Friday Fictioneers #12

8 Aug

School has been hectic and finding time to write has been difficult.

This is my contribution for the week. The prompt can be found here.

My life

Art class.

The task: create a visual autobiography.

Composition type: collage.

I begin with a castle; pewter blocks piled high.  I add whitewashed rooms, and purple walls that peek from windows opened wide.  On top I place a cubby house; red roofed, blue curtained, with a balcony.

Behind the home looms a precipice.

I stand on the edge.

The collage home rests on a foundation of fairy tales.  Pain is whitewashed.  Purple bruises become paint.  Childhood is held just out of reach.

I title my work ‘My lie’.

The teacher gives me an F.

I add it to the collage.

19 Responses to “Friday Fictioneers #12”

  1. Björn Rudberg (brudberg) August 8, 2014 at 10:41 pm #

    I love the thought of this hotchpot house can stand as a metaphor for life itself.. to bad the teacher had no clue about it…

    • mscwhite August 10, 2014 at 2:17 am #

      Sometimes, I guess, teachers see the expected and don’t read between the lines.

  2. patrickprinsloo August 9, 2014 at 2:02 am #

    Damn, that’s moving. A tortured child, an unfeeling teacher. Nicely done.

    • mscwhite August 10, 2014 at 2:19 am #

      Glad it hit the right note for you. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Snow's Fissures and Fractures August 10, 2014 at 12:23 am #

    Very touching story, it hits hard. Well done.

    • mscwhite August 10, 2014 at 4:00 pm #

      Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. The Writer's Village August 10, 2014 at 5:56 am #

    Love this very creative, artsy piece. Love the deadpan last line of adding the”F” to the collage.
    please feel free to add my comments, too.
    (ha) Randy

    Now because you got an “F” the piece changes from “my lie” to “my life” – or was that just a typo.

    • mscwhite August 10, 2014 at 3:57 pm #

      The inclusion of the ‘F’ to change the title of the collage was fully intentional. So glad you picked up on it! I was toying with the idea of including the amended title of the collage at the end, however (a) I couldn’t quite make it flow, and (b) I couldn’t make it fit within the 100 word limit. Instead, I used it as the title of the poem.

      The ending was inspired by Sophie Hannah’s poem, ‘Your dad did what?’

  5. rochellewisoff August 10, 2014 at 7:12 pm #

    Dear MSC,

    Clever ending with adding the F to lie. As an artist, I related to this. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    PS Your title isn’t part of your word count. 😉

  6. Elizabeth August 10, 2014 at 8:06 pm #

    LIght and funny story!

  7. Blake August 11, 2014 at 4:29 am #

    This is my favourite of the stories I’ve read up to now – I love the deadpan tone and the layers of context: a photo of a collage that’s a metaphor for a life, which then gets graded.

    • mscwhite August 11, 2014 at 6:34 pm #

      Wow! Thanks for the compliment!

  8. Maree Gallop August 12, 2014 at 3:42 pm #

    Such a deep story with many layers. The use of metaphor and double meanings is fantastic, and the ending is thought provoking – well done, loved it!

    • mscwhite August 12, 2014 at 10:16 pm #

      Thank you for stopping by and taking time to notice the detail!

  9. patriciaruthsusausan August 12, 2014 at 4:30 pm #

    MSC, Sad but creative story. Hopefully your character had more understanding teachers after that. How regrettable that this was an art teacher with apparently little imagination. I was a teacher, and teachers should report any signs of abuse in the child’s home. This teacher probably didn’t make the effort to even get to know the students. Good and well-written story. 🙂 —Susan

  10. aliciajamtaas August 13, 2014 at 6:27 am #

    Wow! There’s a lot going on in this “collage.” Beautifully done.

  11. aliciajamtaas August 13, 2014 at 6:28 am #

    P.S. Just when I think I’m out of time – can’t read any more FF stories (I do try to read and comment on them all) I read one more (yours) and am so glad I did!!!

    • mscwhite August 17, 2014 at 9:45 am #

      Thanks so much for stopping by! So glad that you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

