Friday Fictioneers #13

16 Aug

I really struggled with Friday Fictioneers this week.  The prompt can be found here, and below is the best I could muster!

Delivery

Dear Nancy,

I received your letter.  I appreciate that it was not addressed to me, but I was thrilled nonetheless.  It made for compelling reading!

Congratulations on the birth of your grandson.  Please don’t panic, many newborns resemble elderly relatives.  In my experience, they grow out of it (and later back into it).

Placing the blame on your daughter-in-law’s genes is unfair.  Why?  Because the baby resembles YOUR relative!

Kind regards,

Mary.

PS. I have included my email address and Skype details so that our continued friendship is not subject to the whims and inaccuracies of the postal delivery service.

 

14 Responses to “Friday Fictioneers #13”

  1. subroto August 17, 2014 at 1:06 am #

    Interesting. Maybe time to get Nancy a Facebook account too. That way she can see the ‘likes’ for her new grandchild (and even become ‘friends’ with her daughter-in-law).

    • mscwhite August 17, 2014 at 9:36 am #

      Fantastic idea!

  2. rochellewisoff August 17, 2014 at 1:20 am #

    Dear MSC,

    Great advice in this letter. No one can choose their genes or looks. Grandma Nancy would do well to heed. Nice one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. Anita August 17, 2014 at 2:05 am #

    This has the old-world of letters & the latest technology of Skype! I just installed Skype today 🙂
    Why blame the poor daughter-in-law? Of course, kids have the genes of their parents & many generations!

    • mscwhite August 17, 2014 at 9:42 am #

      Sometimes, in our disappointment, we can be somewhat rude and uncharitable. I am sure Grandma Nancy will get over it due course. Hopefully she can hold her tongue and not say anything to the daughter-in-law!

  4. Sun August 17, 2014 at 9:29 am #

    Nancy’s letter… who was it intended for if not Mary? Just wondering since you mentioned it was not addressed to Mary. so nice to have so many ways to communicate these days compared to medieval days. i enjoyed your story.

    • mscwhite August 17, 2014 at 9:37 am #

      I’m not sure who it was intended for… I would guess her daughter or another close relative.

      Thanks for the kind comments!

  5. Grace August 17, 2014 at 9:35 am #

    As a grandmother myself, I giggled when I read this. Great use of the prompt. But like Sun, I’m wondering who the letter was really addressed to, and why Mary felt it was OK not only to open it, but to respond!

    • mscwhite August 17, 2014 at 9:40 am #

      This post was inspired by something my friend’s grandma did a few weeks ago. She was delivered a letter and opened it before she realized that it was not meant for her. As a result she wrote an apology letter to explain the opened envelope. Mary, in my story, took it one step further and wrote back.

      • Grace August 17, 2014 at 9:51 am #

        LOL!! I LOVE that amplification! Makes me think Mary (and your friends grandma) would be someone I’d like to get to know. Makes me also wonder what was so compelling in it! Wish people wrote more snail mail these days. After this, I’d be tempted to “accidentally” open something not addressed to me, just for the fun of responding like Mary!

  6. ahtdoucette August 17, 2014 at 10:51 am #

    Grace, I agree that this prompt (and for me this week in general!) was one where it was hard to write. Not sure why either! That said, I think you made a really funny story! I get my voice mail messages transcribed and just got one that I *thought* was a wrong number – because transcription got it way, way wrong. As it turns out it was actually a phone call from someone I haven’t heard from in a while! The person left a really detailed message and I was debating calling back to be like – hey, you sound interesting but I’m not “Dan” before I played back the audio. That would be so funny to actually do that though, especially to give some good advice.

  7. Sandra August 17, 2014 at 5:08 pm #

    Such a clever idea, and I loved the slightly formal, almost acerbic manner of the response. I’m sure the writer will be falling over herself to get in touch on Skype, nothing like face to face encounters. 😦 Well done.

  8. aliciajamtaas August 18, 2014 at 12:57 pm #

    This is delightful. Receiving sound advice because a letter was mis-delivered (don’t think that’s a proper term but . . . ) Kudos!

  9. patriciaruthsusausan August 19, 2014 at 9:54 pm #

    MSC, That was hilarious and well written. 😀 I don’t know if Nancy will be wanting to write to and/or talk to Mary after being told the grandchild she criticized for looks actually takes after her side of the family. Also that Mary opened a letter not addressed to her. Mary may have a long wait for an answer of any kind. People are often blind to things they don’t want to see or admit to. It’s funny. Well done. 🙂 —Susan

Leave a Reply

