Friday Fictioneers #16

27 Sep

Another week, another Friday Fictioneers prompt, and another selection of 100 word stories to enjoy!  Here is mine.

100 Bottles

After dinner, the game begins.

“It’s your fault,” she asserts, the liquid loosening her tongue and filling her with false bravado.  “You took him to the pub to celebrate his eighteenth birthday.”

“It’s your fault,” I slur, my defensive instincts bogged down by the amber waves that swirl around my tongue and teeth.  “You allowed him to sip wine while underage.”

“It’s your fault,” she counters sloppily, her words fighting the relentless red river that drowns coherency.  “You taught him the ‘100 bottles of beer’ song.”

Silence.

Did I teach him that?

I hum as I scan my memory.

Like this story?  Check out the others.

4 Responses to “Friday Fictioneers #16”

  1. rochellewisoff September 27, 2014 at 8:16 pm #

    Dear MSC,

    We must be careful what we teach our children. 😉 Cute story.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. Nan Falkner September 28, 2014 at 2:21 am #

    You give them a cell phone and beg them to call you any time of the day or night if they need a sober ride. That is what we did with our kids – and I’ve been all over Kansas City in the middle of the night to retrieve them and their friends – I didn’t condone underage drinking, but I really didn’t want them driving either. Thanks, Nan 🙂

  3. Amy Reese September 28, 2014 at 4:43 am #

    This does not like a fun game to play. Kids are always watching for the example, even when we don’t know it. Great take.

  4. Snow's Fissures and Fractures September 30, 2014 at 10:07 pm #

    I don’t know if I sensed it right, but I feel there is an undercurrent of tragedy. Like something bad happened to the child and they are playing that old game “Who’s fault it is?” Very well crafted, with so many layers.

Leave a Reply

