Friday Fictioneers #17

12 Oct

It is Friday Fictioneers time  again!  The prompt can be found here, and my contribution can be found below.

Cymbal

For years the filing cabinet sat awkwardly in the space.  My skirt caught on the corners as I walked by, my chair scraped the metal surface when I sat to play the piano.

I wondered what was in it, but never asked; the contents were his to share.

He never did.

I considered jimmying the lock.

I never did.

One day he left; wedding band and key on the table.

That day I sat on the floor of the music room, back to the filing cabinet and cried.  The cymbals sat in my line of vision.

It struck me.

3 Responses to “Friday Fictioneers #17”

  1. Alice Audrey October 13, 2014 at 1:55 am #

    I want to know what was in the filing cabinet!!!! If only we had more words. You could turn this into a book.

  2. rochellewisoff October 13, 2014 at 8:54 am #

    Dear MSC,

    You left me hanging. 😯 I’m with Alice. I want to know what’s in the file cabinet. Well written in any case.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • mscwhite October 13, 2014 at 11:12 am #

      Alice and Rochelle… sorry to leave you hanging! I guess I wanted to give the readers an opportunity to step into the character’s shoes. The intended implication (based on the title) is that the locked cabinet is a symbol for something… perhaps the fact that the man kept a part of himself separate and locked away…

Leave a Reply

