REVIEW: Theodore Boone

27 Oct

I am a huge fan of John Grisham’s novels.  In fact, it was his legal thrillers (in conjunction with John Mortimer’s Rumpole of the Bailey books) that inspired my childhood desire to be a lawyer.

While I often recommend Grisham’s novels to my older students, the language and themes of his texts are often a bit much for my junior students.  The exception, of course, is Grisham’s Theodore Boone series which was written for younger readers.

In response to a request for ‘something with a boy main character’, I am introducing my Year 7 students to the first of Grisham’s Theodore Boone series.  As per usual (see, for example, herehere, and here), I am going to test drive this novel on my students by giving them the first chapter and an accompanying set of questions (QUESTIONS – Theodore Boone).

Leave a Reply

