REVIEW: Taronga

9 Nov

Taronga (Victor Kelleher) is my latest attempt to find something that my Year 7 and 8 boys might enjoy reading.  I have more faith in this text than most, in large part because it was suggested by a Year 7 student in another class.

I like that the novel shows two different models of masculinity, and thus allows boys to understand that sensitivity and empathy do not equate to weakness.  I also like the way the opening chapter seeks to create suspense.

As per usual, I will give my kids the first chapter and a set of questions (QUESTIONS – Taronga).  The idea is that the chapter whets their appetites and the questions get them to think critically and reflectively about the text.

Leave a Reply

