Friday Fictioneers #21

16 Feb

Oh how I have missed you Friday Fictioneers!  Below is my story, and the prompt can be found here.

There

It came to me, carried on dancing blades of grass: a hint of an idea, soft and subtle.

It came to me again, years later.  It snuck in on the scent of a freshly baked pie, on the wings of a paper aeroplane, and later on a ball’s bounce.

It always travelled on the wings of a tinkling laugh.

The laugh beckoned and propelled me forward.

“Stop,” she bellowed.

I obeyed.  Outwardly.

Inside I rebelled.

Doubly imprisoned by shadow and mesh, the freedom afforded to the caretaker’s children was irresistible.

I knew that I wanted to live there, with them.

Want to read my other stories?  Check out the collection.

 

One Response to “Friday Fictioneers #21”

  1. Priceless Joy February 17, 2015 at 2:35 am #

    Excellent! You saw a “prison” too. I loved how you wove your story with the caretaker’s children, freedom and prison. I felt sad for the protaganist.

Leave a Reply

