Friday Fictioneers # 23

10 Mar

It is Friday Fictioneers time again!  I think I am just sneaking in before the deadline.  As per usual, the prompt can be found on Rochelle’s blog, and my contribution is below.  Enjoy!

Mushroom

Other couples whisper their pet names, intimately, affectionately.

Not us.

‘Honey’ denotes sweetness, ‘Pearl’ the colour of a smile.  ‘Sexy’ wears its message like a badge, as does ‘Gorgeous’.

He wants to be original

He calls me ‘Mushroom’.

It isn’t a comment on the shape of my bottom, an elaboration of my sentimental or mushy nature. It bears no correlation to my given name.

When he says it his voice deepens in warning, his tongue curls around the word, he spits out the syllables as if expelling a bad taste.

That bad taste is me.  I am fungus.  Says he.

3 Responses to “Friday Fictioneers # 23”

  1. Priceless Joy March 10, 2015 at 9:56 pm #

    This is wonderful and a great take on the prompt.

  2. Karyn March 11, 2015 at 11:05 am #

    It’s dark but I like it.

  3. rochellewisoff March 11, 2015 at 6:17 pm #

    Dear MSC,

    He sounds like quite a guy. Unique take on the prompt. Good job.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

Leave a Reply

