Grammar Game: Snakes and Ladders

6 Aug

As part of my mission to add variety to the lesson activities I offer my students I want to create a game of Snakes & Ladders that helps students to develops and hone their grammatical skills.

The board would look the same as a typical Snakes & Ladders board.  However, in order to be eligible to roll the dice and have a turn students would need to correctly answer a grammar question.  Questions could test technical details, or ask students to use particular words or punctuation features correctly in a sentence.

I am also keen to involve my students in the creation of the game. Depending on students’ abilities and levels of interest, I might ask them to create the game board, identify the skills they need to develop or, perhaps, to create the questions.

Leave a Reply

